Classroom Carb Habitat ???

Ask any hermit crab care questions in the appropriate section.
TabiCat
Zygote
Zygote

Classroom Carb Habitat ???

Post by TabiCat »

Hello, I am a 6th grade science teacher in Texas. I am a firm believer of living habitats in the classroom for students to interact with and observe. These are not used for experimentation. Do to logistics I have to be very selective of what we introduce. We currently have a thriving aquarium in the classroom and a land/garden snail terrarium in the lab.

I am currently researching the possibility of introducing hermit crabs. I have never kept hermit crabs so have been doing some research into their needs. What I need to know from people who know hermit crabs is would a classroom environment be at suitable for carbs. I have 6 classes that range form 20 to 25 students coming and going in a day. Students are not allowed to handle the animals but do learn to help in their care and meeting their needs. I would have to be able to transport the animals home with me over long breaks as well so need to know if carbs can tolerate these conditions safely and healthily if they are provided a properly maintained habitat.
emmac350
Coenobita
Coenobita
Hermit crabs: 6
Total gallons: 40
Total tanks: 2

Re: Classroom Carb Habitat ???

Post by emmac350 »

What will happen to the crabs over breaks? That would be my biggest concern. Crabs shouldn't be too bothered by kids being in the room, as long as the kids aren't constantly poking at them and the crabs have somewhere to hide.