Fresh Molter making bad life choices?

Questions about hermit crabs moulting and its symptoms.
RebsCritters
Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 5
Total gallons: 292
Total tanks: 9

Fresh Molter making bad life choices?

Post by RebsCritters »

Hi guys!

I'm really new to all this (had my 3 PPs for 7 weeks today!), and my second molter has come up today :D She wasted no time at all changing into a new shell and made her rounds to the food and water, and ran around and climbed everything for a bit (she's the most outgoing of our new friends) before digging back down.
Now, this leads to my concern. She has obviously molted recently and her legs still have that soft looking shine to them. When she buried herself again, she chose to dig right on top of the last guy who molted successfully 2 weeks ago. He's been up and about every night so I'm certain he's fine, but will she smell tastey to him if she's still so fresh from a molt? Should I be concerned or trust that she knows what she's doing?
BTW, this site is incredible and I attribute our successful molts to the wealth of information provided here. Thank you for all the hard work put in here!
emmac350
Coenobita
Coenobita
Hermit crabs: 6
Total gallons: 40
Total tanks: 2

Re: Fresh Molter making bad life choices?

Post by emmac350 »

Your post title made me laugh - I try to tell my crabs they're making poor decisions but they just don't seem to listen! If your crab is dug in for any reason, I'd recommend letting her do her thing. Digging around can collapse crab burrows and kill crabs, so it's best to let her figure it out on her own. If you see bullying on the surface, though, then you absolutely should separate the crabs.
Follow the daily lives of my crabs at thedailyhermit.tumblr.com

Mommy to:
Rack, 23 Sep 08; Benny, 23 Sep 08; Slightly, 3 Jan 09; Nibs, 3 Jan 09; Curly, 3 Jan 09; Spaz, 5 Jul 09

If you are contacted privately and enticed to join another forum, please inform a moderator. This is an unethical practice.