I have a problem concerning mold and molters

Questions about hermit crabs moulting and its symptoms.
joshholman
Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 6
Total gallons: 10
Total tanks: 2

I have a problem concerning mold and molters

Post by joshholman »

Hello, I am new to having hermit crabs(three months now), and I have a bit of a problem. I read online that it is ok to let hermit crabs molt in the main tank. Well i have two crabs under right now, one who has been buried for a few weeks and another that went down two days ago(I'm not sure if he is molting or just digging.) Well anyway, I woke up this morning and noticed a small amount of mold in the corner next to the water dishes. I removed the mold with my hands and smoothed out the substrate (I use Eco Earth Coconut fiber). I want to change the substrate so the mold doesnt come back and harm my crabs but I know its not good to disturb buried hermit crabs. What should I do? I have a ten Gallon tank with a UTH and a Zilla light above the tank to keep it warm and I have six crabs in there total. Three medium sized crabs and Three small crabs. The two that are buried are the smallest two. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Josh Holman
ladybug15057
Coenobita
Coenobita
Hermit crabs: 82
Total gallons: 305
Total tanks: 7

Re: I have a problem concerning mold and molters

Post by ladybug15057 »

Mold is not an ideal situation to have, especially when one has hermies burrowed. Question, do you have another tank you can more those on the surface to? (some have found while waiting for 1-2 hermies to surface another or two will burrow in the meanwhile)
But to help stunt the growth of the mold a little you may want to consider misting in that area with ocean/sea water that you mix.
Marie (aka ladybug15057)

If you are contacted privately (via pm or e-mail) and enticed to join another forum, please contact a Crab Crew member. This is an unethical practice.
joshholman
Zygote
Zygote

Post by joshholman »