StarJohn
Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 2
Total gallons: 32
Total tanks: 2

Thermostat querie

Post by StarJohn »

Two questions regarding using a thermostat with a UHT mounted to the back side of the tank;
1. Is it advisable that I put the thermostat cord with the probe that goes into the tank into some plastic aquarium tubing to protect the crabs from it (or it from the crabs as the case may be)?
2. How far down into the substrate should the probe be placed?
I have had my crabs since December and it has been summer so this is the first time I have had to organise any heating for the tank. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
And may I say thank goodness for this site - it has been my saving grace at times :)
Ginger
Zoea II
Zoea II
Hermit crabs: 11
Total gallons: 60
Total tanks: 3

Re: Thermostat querie

Post by Ginger »

It has been my saving grace as well! Ok, so I haven't used heating a lot, so I'm a newbie too to this type of topic, but after reading some stuff about bits and bobs, yes. I do know that airline tubing is definitely recommended, since they will climb, chew, etc. all over the cord, and I wouldn't want to risk anything! Secondly, Im not sure how far the probe should be placed into the substrate, but if you have the thermostat already, usually it tells you how far to push it in? (Coming from the person who sits in the petstore reading every manual in sight!)
appps
Zoea III
Zoea III
Hermit crabs: 6
Total gallons: 57
Total tanks: 1

Post by appps »

I'm confused, if the heater is on the back wall of the tank it's heating the air just like a ceramic heater would. Why do you want the thermostat in the substrate? I can understand that if it's below the tank as you could cook your crabs but it's air temp they normally measure?

I'd just hang it in above ground but make sure it's high enough off the ground they can't reach it. That's what I do with my ceramic heater.
Annette
Carer of 5 Australian Land Hermit Crabs
Fili & Voldemort since 12/07/2011